NG9-1-1 Interoperability Task Force

NG9-1-1 Interoperability Task Force


In the migration to the Next generation 9-1-1 (NG9-1-1), Interoperability of elements within a NG9-1-1
system and between NG9-1-1 systems provided by different vendors is critical if Public Safety is to realize all the benefits NG9-1-1 promises.

Standards promulgated by Standards Development Organizations (SDOs) including IETF, NENA, ATIS and others are being widely adopted and employed for NG9-1-1 systems both in the United States and internationally.

Conformance to relevant standards and interoperability of NG9-1-1 systems and the associated components is important to ensuring effective emergency response communications.

Increased testing of NG9-1-1 systems and system components will help to ensure standards conformance and interoperability.

There is agreement in the NG9-1-1 community to establish a cost effective and equitable Conformance Test Program with a multi-stakeholder governance structure.

The NG9-1-1 Conformance Test Program will provide one-source testing tools to encourage a consistent, interoperable interpretation of standards, including a conformance test lab to independently certify implementations are standards-based, a supervised test laboratory to test products and implementations with other products or implementations, and the ability to test end to end interoperability and solution independent component level interoperability in an unbiased environment.


The purpose of this invitation is to solicit volunteers to serve on three different committees that will work to resolve gaps and provide the baseline for a NG 9-1-1 Testing Program that meets the needs of all stakeholders.  

Committee Structure 

Each committee is required to meet virtually weekly and attend bi-annual in–person summit
meetings (typically 2 days in Washington DC)

The Committees will report to a steering committee that has representation from key founding
stakeholder members. Each committee will be assigned key tasks that need to be completed to
support the NG 9-1-1 Testing Program. The committees will provide recommendations to the
steering committee that will be used to develop the NG 9-1-1 Testing Program.


Develop governance framework, review existing governance structures, and ensure process conforms to DHS S&T requirements.  


Develop scripts, testing protocols, and testing process.  


Define funding model including the initial startup and suitability framework.  


Please complete the volunteer form. This is an open invitation. Applications will be reviewed by the steering committee regularly.

Please note, no individual, non-founding organization, government entity, company or equivalent may have more than two members serving on a committee at the same time. Applicants must submit CV and confirm supervisor permission to participate.

Charter Document


Committee Members are invited to attend bi-annual in-person summits to convene as a taskforce. The next summit is scheduled for March 2, 2023, in Washington DC.



  hours  minutes  seconds


NG9-1-1 Interop Taskforce Summit II

Committee Members (Updated 1/28/23)

Steering Committee

  • Al BrisardCHAIR Industry Council for Emergency Response Technologies (iCERT)
  • Brandon Abley-NENA: The 9-1-1 Association
  • Budge Corrier-National Association of State 9-1-1 Administrators
  • Sridhar Kowdley Program Sponsor (US Department of Homeland Security S & T)
  • Walt Magnussen-Program Administrator (Texas A & M University) – Non-Voting Member
  • Steve McMurrer-NG9-1-1 Interoperability Oversight Commission (NIOC)
  • Brian Tegtmeyer The National 911 Program (United States Department of Transportation, National Highway Transportation Safety Administration)

Governance Committee

  • Don Brittingham, CHAIR
  • Brandon Abley
  • Joshua Black
  • Scott Brillman
  • Rick Erickson
  • Jamie Fyre
  • Daniel Gerard
  • Varun Grover
  • April Heinze
  • Trevin Hunter
  • George Keleman
  • Chris Kindelspire
  • Sridhar Kowdley
  • Steve McMurrer
  • Bill Mertka
  • Jackie Mines
  • Marie Risser
  • Glenn Roach
  • Dominic Saebeler
  • David Simpson
  • Curtis Sutton
  • Brian Tegtmeyer
  • Paul Troxel
  • Sarah Weston
  • Jeff Wobbleton
  • Ty Wooten

Finance Committee

  • Phil Rotheram, CHAIR
  • Jeffery Boyle
  • Caleb Branch
  • Al Brisard
  • Christopher Carver
  • Budge Currier
  • Molly Falls
  • Bob Finney
  • Ray Paddock
  • AJ Renold

Technical Committee

  • Jason Horning, CHAIR
  • Brandon Author
  • Ian Carpenter
  • Mia Chia
  • Michael Fain
  • Michael Fox
  • Randall Gellens
  • Jeana Green
  • Eman Hammad
  • Thomas Isenberg
  • Heather Joyner
  • Wolfgang Kampichler
  • James Kinney
  • Steven Leese
  • Jon Marcy
  • Roger Marshall
  • Casey O’Brien
  • Michael Proestler
  • Marie Risser
  • Brian Rosen
  • Ian Senne
  • Brooks Shannon
  • Sunil Singhal
  • James Sullivan
  • Ryan Sunahara
  • Yanhui Tong
  • Jeffrey Torres
  • Tommy Tran
  • Ravichandran Valavandan
  • Jordan Witt